“Waiting room”, I read the sign board and went stumbling inside. “Sorry, sorry”. I had hit already two since morning. She was the third. Why did I agree for this snacks bag.
My mother said, “Just this bag for snacks”. I frowned, she had it ready, “You will not have to drool watching someone eat. And what my grandson will eat if he is hungry.” I peeped inside the new shining jute bag, jhola, and bellowed at her. She growled. I nodded and gave up. Better, she had smiled.
I arranged my luggage on the rack pushing others. ” Be careful, you will break the glass set inside.” “Stop pushing that bag, keep your stuff on the floor”. A few others complained while I was adjusting the trolley. Come on, I had only two. How will I walk if I will keep it on floor. I managed all of it with others, some how. Don’t fall, I requested to the giant pile, hardly balanced. I grinned thankfully to all those luggage owners who let me stuff my stuff with theirs. Kind hearted people.
In the meantime, my toddler had already appealed a girl. A newly wed. She was sitting at the corner chair, the row behind, with her husband. “Aww, look at him. He is so cute. Come here baby.”
.
My kid silently got off encircled past me and walked to her. ” He is so sweet. Hi.”
“Hi.” Head bent, heavenly smile. Masterstroke.
“He is so adorable.” . I smiled. Do not befriend.
“How old are you?”
“3, he flashed his fingers”.
“What is your name?”
“Dalch”
I turned back to correct, he meant Darsh. Her husband already seemed annoyed with his wife’s divided attention. He elbowed his wife to let him go. But she was too busy enjoying the conversation with my son. I called my son if he wanted some sandwich. He came running. I tucked him in my lap and we started hogging my mother’s food.
He gave a sigh of relief. He asked if she wanted something to eat. She pointed at the samosa corner outside. He rolled on his feet and brought two plates in his hands, carefully so that the chutney does not spill away from its partner.
She took her share and tore a bite. “Oh, it’s hot.” Her husband left his plate and took her hands into his and and blew air as a bellow on his fingers, fu fuh fuhhh. “Better?”. She blushed and nodded.
“Uncle, it does not work. Put water. No Mamma.”
My son looked at me for acceptance to his answer. Smiling hard I accepted his argument and scolded him to not to interfere.
She giggled behind. They finished their bite. I asked my son if he wanted to sleep. Oh boy, sleep. I impelled him to desperate measures to sleep to avoid any further uneasiness.
It was afternoon. Half of the room was empty and rest was silent or snoozing. My son was too excited to sleep. After every five minutes, he babbles, “Mamma train tab aayedi?” When will the train come?
I was busy keeping my son occupied. He was playing on the chair. The room was semi- deserted now and the couple was getting cozier. He pulled her closer. In the meantime, while talking he pulled back her hair strain behind her ear and leaned towards her. My impatient kid suggested, “Aunty do you need my hairpin”.
He bent his head and pointed at his clip. I could not stop laughing.
“Train number 2312, Sangmitra Express, is arriving on platform number 2.”
I stood up hurriedly to collect all my baggage and thanked both Prabhu “Right time” and rushed towards the platform. “Sorry”, I screamed as the luggage hit somebody’s knee from the crowd.

 

